

# **RESOURCES AND FINANCE COMMITTEE**

Minutes of the meeting of the Resources and Finance Committee held in the Council Chamber, The Grange, Nutholt Lane, Ely on Thursday, 24 May 2018 at 6:30pm.

#### PRESENT

Councillor Allen Alderson (Substitute Member)
Councillor Mike Bradley
Councillor Steve Cheetham
Councillor Lorna Dupré
Councillor Chris Morris
Councillor Alan Sharp
Councillor Jo Webber (Substitute Member)

## **APOLOGIES**

Councillor David Ambrose Smith Councillor David Brown Councillor Mark Goldsack

#### **OFFICERS**

John Hill – Chief Executive

Maggie Camp – Legal Services Manager and Monitoring Officer

Jo Brooks – Director Operations

Emma Grima – Director Commercial

Adrian Scaites-Stokes – Democratic Services Officer

#### 1. **ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN**

Councillor David Brown was nominated by Councillor Alan Sharp and seconded by Councillor Mike Bradley. There being no other nominations:

It was resolved:

That Councillor David Brown be elected as Chairman of the Resources and Finance Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

# 2. **APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN**

Councillor Alan Sharp was nominated by Councillor Mike Bradley and seconded by Councillor Chris Morris. There being no other nominations:

It was resolved:

That Councillor Alan Sharp be appointed as Vice-Chairman of the Resources and Finance Committee for the ensuing municipal year.

## 3. RESOURCES AND FINANCE HEARINGS SUB-COMMITTEE

It was resolved:

That the following Members be appointed to the Resources and Finance Hearings Sub-Committee for 2018/19:

#### **Conservative Members (5)**

Councillor Anna Bailey Councillor Mike Bradley Councillor Julia Huffer Councillor Andy Pearson Councillor Mathew Shuter

# **Liberal Democrat Member (1)**

Councillor Lorna Dupré

# **Independent (unaligned Member) (1)**

Councillor Derrick Beckett

## **Independent Persons**

Independent Person – Mr Raith Overhill Deputy Independent Person – Mrs Sue Booth

#### **Co-opted Town/Parish Council Members**

Cllr Rosemary Aitchison (Soham Town Council)
Cllr Jo Waters (Little Downham Parish Council)

#### 4. PERSONNEL APPEALS SUB-COMMITTEE

It was resolved:

That the following 3 Members be appointed to the Personnel Appeals Sub-Committee for 2018/19:

# **Conservative Members (2)**

Councillor Peter Cresswell Councillor Hamish Ross

#### **Liberal Democrat Member (1)**

Councillor Sue Austen

# 5. COMMUNITY INFRASTRUCTURE LEVY (CIL)/TRANSPORT STRATEGY EAST CAMBRIDGESHIRE (TSEC) JOINT ECDC/CCC MEMBER STEERING GROUP

It was noted that Councillor Andy Pearson had moved out of the district, so it was queried whether he should be appointed to this Steering Group. The Committee decided to appoint two Members and leave the third position vacant for the time being.

It was resolved:

That the following District Council Members be appointed to the Joint Member Steering Group for 2018/19:

### **Conservative Members (3)**

Councillor Ian Bovingdon Councillor Mike Rouse Vacancy

# 6. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBER SERVICE DELIVERY CHAMPIONS

It was resolved:

That Member Service Delivery Champions be appointed for 2018/19 to the following Service areas:

- Democratic Services Councillor Stuart Smith
- Economic Development Councillor Steve Cheetham
- Financial Services Councillor Chris Morris
- Infrastructure Councillor Ian Bovingdon
- Strategic Housing Councillor Mathew Shuter
- Strategic Planning Councillor Coralie Green
- Customer Services Councillor Jo Webber
- Human Resources Councillor Christine Ambrose Smith
- Information Technology Councillors Mike Bradley and Paul Cox
- Legal Services Councillor Mark Hugo
- Performance Management Councillor Dan Schumann
- Reprographics and Document Management Councillor Mike Bradley

The meeting concluded at 6:35pm.